FICTION
The Silent Wife
Nov. 2018. 352p. ISBN 9781538714652. pap. $12.99; ebk. ISBN 9781786811264. F
COPY ISBN

Maggie is the newest member of the Farinelli family, marrying Nico after the death of his first wife, Caitlin. She often feels she is unable to compete with the woman she replaced. Maggie hopes to find an ally in her new sister-in-law, Lara, but Lara is stiff and distant to all offers of friendship. Even so, when Maggie discovers a scandalous secret from Caitlin’s past, she goes to Lara for advice. Lara harbors her own secrets about her husband and their family, secrets so devastating they would destroy the family dynamics. Both Lara and Maggie must decide if they should keep silent or speak up and change the family and their lives forever. Fisher’s (After the Lie) take on modern families and the hardships that often come with marriage is emotionally insightful and gripping. Having both Lara and Maggie narrate really captures the family dynamic and the essence of how easy it is to cover up and overlook real problems, even with whom we are close. The English dialect can be a little difficult to understand at times, but overall the drama will keep readers drawn in and wanting more.

VERDICT Recommended for fans of Liane Moriarty or Jennifer Weiner. [marital distrust/secrets box]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.