Fiction

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

Sea Monsters

Written by a young and highly regarded Mexican American author whose debut novel, Book of Clouds, won a major prize in France, this work deftly communicates the wonder and amazement of discovery characterizing Luisa's inner and outer worlds. Aridjis is an accomplished wordsmith, and readers will find themselves rereading many passages in this wise, marvelous novel.
PREMIUM

The Silent Wife

Recommended for fans of Liane Moriarty or Jennifer Weiner. [marital distrust/secrets box]

PREMIUM

Those Who Knew

: While Lena is the novel’s primary focus the novel shifts point of view and perspective. By focusing on the characters and their interconnected and very personal stories Novey negotiates the surreal reality of an aging port city both victim and beneficiary of globalization. Highly recommended for readers of literary fiction and books by and about Latin America.

PREMIUM

The Shape of the Ruins

: Ostensibly this novel will appeal to readers of crime fiction, but they may be turned off by the lack of knowledge of the major players from Colombian history and the speculative, desultory narrative.

PREMIUM

An Anonymous Girl

 For those who loved the creepy stalking in Hendricks & Pekkanen’s The Wife Between Us, this unnerving tale will have readers rethinking what secrets are safe to share and if morality really matters when protecting those you love. [See Prepub Alert, 7/2/18.]

PREMIUM

Paris Echo

: Readers of novels like Sarah’s Key and The Paris Architect may be familiar with some of the history of the occupation -- the roundup of French Jews at the Velodrome and their transport to Drancy -- but Faulks shines new light on the role of women during France’s darker past. An atmospheric and engrossing novel by a seasoned storyteller.

PREMIUM

Insurrecto

: While the postmodern structure of the book serves to distance (and at some points frustrate) the reader, by the second half there is a forward thrust, and the chapter numbering begins to make sense. The novel will find a worthy place in collections strong in post-colonial and experimental fiction.

PREMIUM

The Perfect Liar

For fans of twisty stories and domestic suspense, this novel creates a slow burn with not one but two climaxes, which will cause readers to wonder who is safe. [marital secrets/distrust box]

PREMIUM

Past Tense

With his usual flair for succintness and eye for detail, Child creates another rollicking road trip with Reacher that will please fans and newcomers alike. [See Prepub Alert, 5/7/18.]

64 articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.