Fiction

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Stone Circle

Fans of the series will be delighted to catch up with Ruth and Nelson as the mysteries wind their way to satisfying solutions. [See Prepub Alert, 11/5/18.]
PREMIUM

Have Your Ticket Punched by Frank James

St. Louis comes to life in this sequel to Mayhem at Buffalo Bill’s Wild West. However, Jemmy is too young, makes too many mistake s as an amateur sleuth, and isn’t even sure she wants to be a reporter. Readers looking for historical mysteries featuring young women striving to make it in the newspaper world may want to try Alyssa Maxwell’s “Emma Cross” stories set in the same time period.
PREMIUM

The Summer of Ellen

Friis, coauthor with Lene Kaaberbøl of the “Nina Borg” mysteries, excels in her second solo novel (after What My Body Remembers). Readers of Nordic noir literature will appreciate the setting, social critique, and the classic whodunit story. Fans of Henning Mankell’s “Wallander” series will enjoy the excellent character development with twists and turns throughout. [See Prepub Alert, 11/12/18.]
PREMIUM

Sconed to Death

The most intriguing aspect of this story is the writers’ retreat itself. Although the writers themselves are not suspect, they add freshness and new relationships to the series. Fans of Lucy Arlington’s “Novel Idea” mysteries may want to enter the writing world from another angle.
PREMIUM

Dusk Along the Niobrara

The frontier mystery fits the Western trope of the stranger who rides into town, cleans it up by defeating the bad guys, and moves on. This atmospheric tale can be shared with fans of Westerns and the movie Shane.

The Last Time I Saw You

Sisters Lynne and Valerie Constantine, under the pseudonym Liv Constantine (The Last Mrs. Parrish), have crafted another clever whodunit jam-packed with enough twists, turns, and secrets to keep avid thriller readers second-guessing until the bitter end. [See Prepub Alert, 11/5/18.]

One Small Sacrifice

Fans of Karin Slaughter, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner will devour this new police procedural, which boasts a strong female detective and an intriguing antagonist. Sheryn will draw in readers, and Davidson’s (Blood Always Tells) complex storytelling will keep them wanting more.
PREMIUM

The Never Game

This is a sure bet for fans of suspense and will find a home with those who like their protagonists to be a central part of the mystery. [See Prepub Alert, 11/12/18.]
PREMIUM

Antiques Ravin’

Fans of J.C. Eaton’s “Sophie Kimball” books may want to try this series with another hapless daughter seeking to control her mother’s eccentricities.
78 articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month