Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

The Last Time I Saw You

1
Sisters Lynne and Valerie Constantine, under the pseudonym Liv Constantine (The Last Mrs. Parrish), have crafted another clever whodunit jam-packed with enough twists, turns, and secrets to keep avid thriller readers second-guessing until the bitter end. [See Prepub Alert, 11/5/18.]

One Small Sacrifice

1
Fans of Karin Slaughter, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner will devour this new police procedural, which boasts a strong female detective and an intriguing antagonist. Sheryn will draw in readers, and Davidson’s (Blood Always Tells) complex storytelling will keep them wanting more.
PREMIUM

The Never Game

1
This is a sure bet for fans of suspense and will find a home with those who like their protagonists to be a central part of the mystery. [See Prepub Alert, 11/12/18.]
PREMIUM

Antiques Ravin’

1
Fans of J.C. Eaton’s “Sophie Kimball” books may want to try this series with another hapless daughter seeking to control her mother’s eccentricities.
PREMIUM

The Scholar

1
The competition rife in academia is a major theme of this delightful and unexpected tale, making it one to suggest to fans of M.D. Lake and Susan Holzer.
PREMIUM

Sunshine State

1
This attractive PI thriller should appeal to lovers of detective fiction.
PREMIUM

All the Lost Things

1
This relatively short novel will keep readers hooked from the first sentence to the last. Sacks’s use of Dolly’s voice as narrator allows events to unfold from a child’s perspective and encourages readers to try to piece together the secret behind the “big adventure,” which is ultimately unexpected for readers and life-changing for Dolly.
PREMIUM

Almost Midnight

1
Though newcomers will be better served by starting at the beginning of the series, fans will be satisfied hearing of Mike’s latest exploits.

Gone Too Long

1
This compelling, issue-oriented story by Edgar Award–winning author Roy (Bent Road) is a creepy, eerie account of a young girl and a community held hostage by the Klan. [See Prepub Alert, 12/6/18.]
PREMIUM

If She Wakes

1
Fans of Koryta’s previous works, especially Those Who Wish Me Dead, will greatly enjoy this exciting story. [See Prepub Alert, 11/12/18.]
PREMIUM

A Golden Grave

1
If Amy Stewart’s adventures featuring Miss Kopp married an episode of TV’s Murdoch Mysteries, it would become this book’s balanced blend of mysticism and mystery. [See Prepub Alert, 2/25/19.]
PREMIUM

Into the Jungle

1
With so much fierce realism, it comes as a distraction when Ferencik (The River Night) incorporates elements of magical realism. However, readers who accept Lily’s telepathic link with the village’s shaman will be turning pages eagerly to see what exhilarating adventure awaits her next.
PREMIUM

At Home in the Dark

1
While the selection of authors is appealing, readers and libraries may balk at the price. Because the quality varies, and there are only 17 stories, the Akashic “Noir” collections may be preferable.
PREMIUM

The Body Lies

1
Longbourn author Baker’s foray into suspense contains some beautifully written passages, but it is mostly told from the perspective of the protagonist, and at times it’s hard to grasp the young woman’s motivations or emotions. Regardless, this book is recommended for readers who enjoy psychological thrillers that focus on women protagonists such as Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, or Paula Hawkins’s Girl on the Train. [See Prepub Alert, 12/6/18.]

The Body in the Wake

1
Traditional yet timely, this mystery also confronts the opioid crisis head-on in a dramatic, disturbing way. [See Prepub Alert, 11/5/18.]
PREMIUM

Breaking the Dance

1
While the first in the series was fast paced and charming, this second entry drags. The two amateur spies are lovable, but only readers determined to keep up with Finn and Hollis will finish this long-winded book.

Night Watch

1
Fans of James R. Benn’s “Billy Boyle” novels will appreciate this fast-paced, intense story by the Edgar Award–nominated author of Night Life and Night Work. The action-packed account of investigations into the controversial CIA experiments is suspenseful and frightening.
PREMIUM

The Stone Circle

1
Fans of the series will be delighted to catch up with Ruth and Nelson as the mysteries wind their way to satisfying solutions. [See Prepub Alert, 11/5/18.]
PREMIUM

Have Your Ticket Punched by Frank James

1
St. Louis comes to life in this sequel to Mayhem at Buffalo Bill’s Wild West. However, Jemmy is too young, makes too many mistake s as an amateur sleuth, and isn’t even sure she wants to be a reporter. Readers looking for historical mysteries featuring young women striving to make it in the newspaper world may want to try Alyssa Maxwell’s “Emma Cross” stories set in the same time period.
PREMIUM

The Summer of Ellen

1
Friis, coauthor with Lene Kaaberbøl of the “Nina Borg” mysteries, excels in her second solo novel (after What My Body Remembers). Readers of Nordic noir literature will appreciate the setting, social critique, and the classic whodunit story. Fans of Henning Mankell’s “Wallander” series will enjoy the excellent character development with twists and turns throughout. [See Prepub Alert, 11/12/18.]
PREMIUM

Sconed to Death

1
The most intriguing aspect of this story is the writers’ retreat itself. Although the writers themselves are not suspect, they add freshness and new relationships to the series. Fans of Lucy Arlington’s “Novel Idea” mysteries may want to enter the writing world from another angle.
PREMIUM

Dusk Along the Niobrara

1
The frontier mystery fits the Western trope of the stranger who rides into town, cleans it up by defeating the bad guys, and moves on. This atmospheric tale can be shared with fans of Westerns and the movie Shane.
PREMIUM

A Dangerous Collaboration

As there's little substance to the mystery, readers can concentrate on the slowly developing relationship between the fiercely independent Veronica and Stoker, who is still reeling from his wife's betrayal. Those new to the series should read the books in order. [See Prepub Alert, 9/10/18.]
PREMIUM

Trouble on the Books

Lang has written previous cozies as Linda Wiken (Roux the Day) and Erika Chase. In this new series, the setting is more enticing than the sleuth. Shelby lacks people skills, hasn't become part of the community, and is uptight and nosy. Readers looking for book-centric mysteries featuring more likable sleuths should be steered toward Eva Gates or Jenn McKinlay.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Mother

1
For lovers of cunning narrative suspense in the vein of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, this debut novel, which is being adapted for the screen by actress Kerry Washington, will keep readers turning the pages, sending chills to mothers everywhere. [See Prepub Alert, 11/21/17.]

The Cats Came Back

Fans of Jenn McKinlay's and Dean James's library mysteries may appreciate this series. However, with its large cast of characters, this latest entry is definitely for those who have already read the other books in this heartwarming series.
PREMIUM

The Funeral Owl: A Philip Dryden Mystery

Dagger Award-winning Kelly's seventh series entry (after Nightrise) showcases his trademark multiple plotlines to perfection. Newcomers to the series will be delighted by this discovery.
PREMIUM

Jump the Gun: An Annabelle Starkey Mystery

Quickly paced and so clever, Burke's debut is a winning semi-cozy caper, perfect for movie fans. She never misses a beat with her light rom-com banter, multigenerational ensemble, and sense of fun. This title makes a nice pairing with Diane Vallere's "Mad for Mod" series.
PREMIUM

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.